What Remains of Edith Finch Review

I had heard a lot of mixed reviews on this game. I knew it was a short indie game, that basically involved walking around and looking for things. But, some people raved about the game. How good it is and how emotional it can be. While others claimed how boring it was. So, naturally, I decided to find out for myself. I’ll admit, I’m glad I did. I always prefer adventure games. Even though this games is classed as an adventure game, it is so much more.

The whole point of the game is to walk with Edith Finch as she finds out the truth about what happened to her family. She went back to the Finch Family home after her mother died and left her a key. But didn’t tell her what it opened. The walk to the house so calm and peaceful. When I saw the house in the distance, I found it quite surreal at first. I didn’t expect the house to look as quirky as it did. It isn’t until I started exploring all the rooms that I found out why it was so unique. I have to admit, the design of the house and the surrounding areas is fantastic. I love he graphics of this game. The designers seemed to have captured all the weirdness within Edith’s reality so well. Every corner I turned showed a new surprise.

I think the hardest thing for me was seeing Edie’s (Edith’s grandmother) version of all the deaths. It seemed like she wanted to sugar coat the truth. I won’t lie, finding out how each of them died was quite emotional and on occasion, confusing. There are a few of the death stories that are so out there and how they were killed is just lost in translation. At least for me. Other people probably got the gist of then, straight away. I’ll be honest. Some of the deaths were so heartbreaking. Like the one year old, drowning in the bath and one the children being killed in the storm.

The game is as heartbreaking, as it is good. It definitely deserves a play through. If you’ve got a few hours to yourself and you’re after a short game, that will get you thinking. What Remains of Edith Finch is absolutely the game to play.

What Remains of Edith Finch rating 9 out of 10

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.